MAKING THE WORLD AROUND YOU REFLECT WHO YOU REALLY ARE

Child-like with Our Father!

I want you to know how awesome the Lord is.  Yesterday, I typed up my prayer groups weekly letter and sent it off feeling full only to realize that the newsletter didn’t save to my computer and the one I sent was from last week.  The only thing different that they received was a list of questions.  I also sent the letter to 5 other women that I don’t normally send it to.  Well one of those five women needed that word yesterday so I am assuming that the Lord knew what he was doing.  Anyway, this week the Lord gave me the word CHILD.  He gave me the word last week after prayer group and all weekend I waited for the lesson to come.  By the time Monday came around I was getting a little antsy.  I came into my office and pulled up our letter and just looked at it.  Then one of my co-workers walked in.  She was frustrated and it was obvious she had a lot on her mind.  I asked her what was wrong but I was not prepared for what she had to say.  It wasn’t anything tragic or outright crazy but the conversation that I began to have with her struck me as foreign.  We were talking about her children and as I listened I began to think about how different we as women are when it comes to the approaches we take when raising our children.  All of us came from different families and from generation to generation things have been passed down or eliminated based on our perceptions of what parenting meant.  Well I will admit by the end of the conversation I was extremely annoyed.  I couldn’t for the life of me understand why she didn’t realize that the things she allowed her children to do had a direct correlation to why they felt and acted the way they did.  When she left I turned my attention back to our letter and just like that it hit me.  I opened up my bible and this is what I found.

Matthew 18:1-4; 1 At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who, then, is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”

 2 He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. 3 And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

A similar word is found in Mark 10:13-16

13 People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. 14 When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 15 Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” 16 And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.

What came to me is that as a child we are helpless and we depend solely on our parents to care for us and guide us.  We do it instinctively not knowing if they are right or wrong, only that they are the authority.  We are taught from the day we are born through lessons and experiences to become self-sufficient so that one day we can to be adults and fend for ourselves.  Our parents influence what we know and who we become with the things that they show us. And even though it is supposed to be done in love sometimes it is not always right.  We are all imperfect.  But as children of the Lord we are sooooo blessed to have a PERFECT Father who takes the time each and every day to show us the way.  As I sat and meditated on his word something else occurred to me.  When we are a child loving and trusting our parents to care for us comes natural. We do it blindly all the time moving about carefree and joyful without a thought to if its right or wrong. When we do something wrong and are reprimanded we are only upset for a second and then we forget and continue moving in that ignorant state.  In this passage the Lord says that in order for us to come into his Kingdom we have to be more Child Like.  So I thought about it some more and I realized what he really meant.

The Lord, like our parents, wants us to learn and grow and mature in him.  He wants us to excel and be prosperous.  He wants us to use what he has taught us in every area of our lives and with hopes that it will influence our decisions, relationships, and thoughts.  Within that process he doesn’t want us to lose the innocence of a child.  He wants us to be able to love him, trust him, and depend on him blindly with no hesitation. He wants to be in control of our lives.  See we did it as easily as a child with a carefree spirit and he wants that from us now, to love him and trust him so much that we don’t second guess his decisions, to except his instruction, to wade through his discipline, and to come through smiling and loving him just the same if not more.  I don’t know about ya’ll but isn’t it awesome to know that our Daddy has got this and that because he is Perfect in every way I can relax and trust him knowing that he will never lead me astray, he will never hurt me, he will always give me his best, and that the lessons he teaches me will help me grow and mature and prepare for what’s in my future.  He will comfort me when I fall and nurse me.  He will cloth me and feed me.  He will take on the worries for me and all I have to do is trust him.  Our Father is a Great Parent isn’t he? This scripture says to be like a Child. That means to always be faithful, humble, innocent of sin, and loving with an eagerness to learn. Is that what you are doing?  Are you child like in your relationship with the Lord?

Prayer: Lord, you are so amazing.  You are the light in my darkness and my shield from the storm and I give you all the praise and honor that is due you.  Without you father I am nothing and I owe everything to you.  Lord, as I continue day by day to do your will and be closer to you I ask that you show me how to be more Child like.  Lord, teach me to learn how to let go of all of my troubles, fears, insecurities, and burdens and just trust that you will take care of it.  Lord, I ask that you continually give me a humble and loving spirit and that it shines through me into the World around me.  Lord, I ask that as you parent me and guide me into a more mature walk, with you that my heart be willing and my ears and eyes be open to see what your vision is for my life.  Lord, because of your anointed plan for my life I know you know exactly what I need, when I need it, and how much of it I need.  I ask that your will, not mine be done.  Lord, continue to convict me day by day, showing me right from wrong so that I wont make the wrong choices. Lord, I am just so thankful that you love me as your child and that as my father I can expect that you will make all the provisions I need and protect me from all harm. Lord, I ask that you direct me in being a parent for my children now and the ones I will have later.  I ask that you equip me with the wisdom, knowledge, understanding, love, patience, and discipline to be the teacher I need to be in their lives.  Lord, I give my children back to you and ask that because you saw fit to bless me with them that you will help me to parent them under your watch. I ask that you protect them from my mistakes and that you love them just as you love me now.  I thank you and praise you in advance for your blessings over me.  Lord continue to walk around me illuminating my path and keeping me focused on you.  Lord I just love you and I thank you for all you do.  I ask all these things in your name, Jesus Christ. Amen

I pray that you have a wonderful week. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

